Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

International sporting events has undeniable role in increasing peace, harmony and communication. It is proposed that sport events can play a key role in dissolving international disputes and can act as an outlet to exert one’s superiority over another and portray patriotism in a healthy way in spite of a violent act. I partly agree with this view, as I believe that such proposal cannot be applied generally, it is entirely situational and may even make the condition more deplorable and can be harmful for the sport itself. This essay shall discuss the role of international sports events in establishing harmony around the globe.

Sports events such as Olympics were established to increase the communication between different countries. Increased communication during interactive sessions opens the door of further talks and may help in dissolving disputes. These events provide citizens of nations to exert and prove their superiority over the rival country in terms of skill and more importantly with a zest of sportsmanship and can serve as outlet of urge to portray patriotism. This is the reason why every country’s army has a sport team and members of that sport team are sent to take part in international sports events too.

However, such kind of healthy interaction is able to dissolve only trivial disputes, but in case of arch enemies these sport events are played and received (followed) with spirit of jealousy, and rivalry overcomes the spirit of sportsmanship. To win over the arch enemy whether in battle field or in sports field becomes a matter of pride and results in collateral damage. This situation can be well explained from a horrible incidence from history, when Pakistan lost to India in final match of cricket world cup 1983, players of Pakistan team were boycotted by media as well as by Pakistanis, players were not even allowed to land in Karachi and their houses were burnt and family members of players were injured and all of this chaos resulted in riots as loosing, whether in a sports event to their extreme rival was perceived as a matter of horrible shame by Pakistanis. Such reaction from countrymen can provoke players to adopt unfair means in quest of winning the game at any cost and this malpractice is damaging to player itself as well as to sport.

To sum up with, international sports events undoubtedly helps in increasing interactions between different countries hence can be helpful in establishing harmony and can provide an outlet of patriotic spirit but such output cannot be expected in every circumstance, rather such kind of interaction in arch rivals can be downright harmful for the peace of both countries, as well as for the sport.