"Prevention is better than cure."

Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to

spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Shifting focus of Nation’s health budget from treatment modalities to preventive and educative measures is a considerable option. Although Prevention and awareness has undeniable role in health policies but in my opinion treatment part of health policies should continue receiving major financial backup from authorities, because of existence of idiopathic and genetic etiologies of diseases and impact of education and awareness is not widespread. This essay will discuss paramount of monetary support to treatment policies.

Majority of world is now suffering from genetic and idiopathic diseases, whose etiology is unknown, hence in these cases prevention would not be able to halt the progression of disease, only treatment would help in alleviating the symptoms and provide relief. According to world health report 2018, only 2% of world’s population is suffering from communicable diseases and 17%is suffering from genetic abnormalities. Etiology of a lot of diseases is still an enigma for health professionals, hence in this condition, adoption and execution of more treatment policies and financially supporting these policies is the only step which can be taken to help mankind.

Furthermore, impact of awareness and preventive program cannot be denied, but their impact is not widespread and is only limited to literate people and developed countries. For instance, in a continent like Africa where majority of diseases are either genetic or are malnutrition related, in both of these scenarios educative or awareness programs would not have any role, in a country where population and illiterate and poor, where their main concern is to earn enough money to provide food to their family authorities can only help population by providing free and more available treatment.

Although preventive and awareness programs have resulted in eradication of few diseases. Polio free India is result of such preventive and awareness program where government invested a lot in prevention and educating population about this disease, but again this success can be attained in all the scenarios.

To sum up with, albeit preventive and educative policies have a vital role in overall health policies but treatment part should get more monetary support from authorities, because of existence of idiopathic and genetic diseases and limited impact of preventive policies on all social classes.