Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibilities of teachers, while other thinks this is role of parents

Rate of deranged behavior is amongst young children is on surge and is a pervasive issue in educational institutes. It is argued that it is responsibility of parents as children spend significant amount of time of their formative years at home and more chances of one on one interaction. other than that parents influence both child’s genetic makeup and modulate external environmental influences. Some argue that as school is the place where a child is sent to learn, its teacher’s responsibility to control and modulate his behavioral attributes. Impact of teacher’s word and peer influence can act as important tools for imbibing habit of discipline in a child. There is no denying that on teacher’s role in disciplining a child in school, I believe that it is the parents who hold the large share of this responsibility. This essay will discuss the role of both teachers and parents in controlling behavioral attributes of a child.

Parents undoubtedly are the first teachers of a child’s life. Other than influencing child’s genetic pool, parents control majority of external influences which child experiences, hence have a key role in modulating child’s behavior. There is ample scientific evidence available to back it up this view, a study conducted by Harvard University revealed that parents preaching dictates up to 78% of how a child behaves in public. Bad habits are hard to die and once a habit of indiscipline is imbibed by parents in form of whether ignorance or out of love, are hard to rectify by teachers or even by parents themselves

Opponents of this view state that school is the place whose sole motive is to give knowledge and to make child learn new things, hence it’s the duty of teacher to discipline the child and teach him lessons of behavioral conduct.it has been scientifically proven that environment of school and impact of teacher’s word holds a great influence on child, even more than of parents’ word.

On the other hand, teachers do not get to interact with children on one on one basis, they have a whole of the class to attend to, hence teacher may fail in rectify a child’s behavioral attributes and it is being seen on many instances that teachers adopt the method of reporting the indiscipline of a child to his parents in quest of reformation of his behavior, which has been proven beneficial.

To sum up with, albeit both parents and teachers share the responsibility of behavioral attributes especially maintaining discipline, but parents own the bigger share, as they have ability to influence child’s environment since his early preschool era and spend more time with their child.