Few poeple devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what iffect this has on individual and society in general.

More and more people are sacrificing their hobbies on order to devote more time to work and to do other secondary things like surfing on internet and watching television. The consequence is detrimental to both individual and society.

The immediate cause of not spending time on hobbies is the adoption of hectic schedule by the working class. Due to the long working hours, people are left with little time to do things which actually gives them happiness. Even the competition to get a promotion in a job is adding fuel to the fire and making the situation worse. For instance, one of my colleague, even after getting selected in a team did not participate in a tournament because he could not afford to miss the weekly official meeting with the employer. Another prime factor due to which hobbies are taking a backseat in people life is their misconception that pursuing their hobby as a profession will not earn them hefty amount of money.

This trend is causing damage to the individual both on the personal as well as on professional basis. As an old saying quotes "all work but no play makes the jack a dull boy", what this means is that if a person does not take a break from work to enjoy himself than ultimately he will end up as a less creative and more frustated human being. This will drastically affect his performance at work. Not only this, a slave to the work can never make quality relationship with his colleagues. Hence, he becomes not only a less peoductive man but also a bad co-worker. Another harm which avoidance of hobbies does is affecting mental and physical fitness. Leisure time activities are imperative for a person to rejuvinate himself. As the adage goes "a sound mind lives in a sound body" so it is necessary to participate in outdoor hobbies like sports otherwise an adult is not doing justice to his body and mind.

To conclude, in the race to earn money a get promotions, many persons forget that real prospeeity is in doing things which they feel thrilled to do. That is the reason so many unhappy faces is the common sight nowadays.