Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past.This behaviour is now having a negative imapact on society.Discuss

Nowadays, younger generation failed miserably to respect their elders as they used to do decades ago. This bitter reality is having a negative influence on society. In my experience, the immediate cause behind such drift is the ignorance shown by parents towards their children at early age thus increase in the cases of family separation is its direct result.

Certainly, in the past, the youngsters respect their elders because ethos and moral values were inculcated in them by their parents. But, presently, most of the upbringers are working around the clock and hardly find any time to spend with their children. This results in less interaction and poor understanding between them. For instance, majority of my colleagues work late nights and rarely talk with their offsprings about hardships they face at schools. To be more precise, they failed to act as the sounding board for their children. Hence, teenager find it hard to respect them, which at the end results in the separation of family.

Another factor that contributes to the growth of disrespectful children is the education they receive is much better than what their parents got. Thanks to accessibility of new age technology, youngsters have become smarter and more intelligent in contrast to the past. Evidence to this can be provided by any young individual who can operate his father's smartphone far better than him. This creates a false sense of superiority among todays generation and they often look down upon their parents and disrespects them.

From the facts discussed above, it is lucid that upbringing is the main cause of lacking respect among adoloscent for their parents. The new sources of knowledge are adding fuel to the fire and making this trend even more disturbing.