Fewer and fewer children are willing to look after their parents as they get older these days.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

By the passage of time, children are getting busy with their new responsibilities, so many of them tend not to take care of their parents. In this essay, I will explain the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Firstly, children can guarantee better facilities for their old parents in nursing houses rather than their home. As children get older, they get stuck in ups and downs of the new life with too many duties in their work or family. So, with less free time, they can not provide those needs that their parents want. So, parents can take advantage of nursing houses to develop their social skills, find new friends, and escape from loneliness. Moreover, old parents may have the other chance to rely on themselves and hold their own. Some people believe that parents must be able to take care of themselves unless they are sick or have physical problems. In this case, they may not complaint about their loneliness and try to find ways to overcome their challenges, such as finding a friend or learning how to work with some less complicated cell phone.

On the other hand, leaving parents on their own may bring some conflicts, and parents' hearts might be broken. Some parents want their children to take care of them when they become old, but children who are now adults are so busy and cannot fulfill their expectation. In this case, parents get frustrated and sad for their children inconsiderate manner. In the long term, they may suffer from depression, which can have bad effects on their relationship with their children and the people around them. In addition, if children visit their parents less, grandchildren will be deprived of seeing their grandparents, which can negatively impact children's thoughts. If there is no efficient connection between parents and children, grandchildren may not find family values and morals at their age. And grandparents don't have the chance to teach them some customs and beliefs of the family. So, grandchildren may usually miss grandparents and have less attention to respect beliefs in the future.

In conclusion, I think children should strive to be careful about their parents' condition even if they are so busy, but parents should be independent and rely on their own abilities.