Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers. Why do young people not want to become teachers? How could this be changed?

Few years ago teaching was regarded as a stable career choice and was highly preferred. But in current scenario young generation are not very keen in teaching profession and regard it as a traditional career. This essay will look into the reasons and ways to modify this perspective.

There are plethoras of career options available to choose from these days as compared to the days when doctors, teachers and lawyers were the most preferred professions. Students are fascinated by these career choices which offers lucrative pay packages as well as opportunities to travel onsite and other benefits. On the contrary, most teachers in private schools are not paid handsomely and are overloaded with work. Due to low pay and static nature of the job, young people consider teaching as an outdated profession.

There are multiple ways to attract more people in education sector. Firstly, the salaries of teaching personnel in private institutions must be regulated by the government. This step would eliminate exploitation of the teachers and would be paid as per their experience. Secondly, there are many schools where fewer teachers are hires and students per teacher are more than hundred. This leads to extreme workload and stress on the teaching staff. Strict laws and rules by the government are significant to minimize the workload on teachers and hence improve the quality of education imparted to students. All these measures would attract the youth to take up teaching as a career.

To conclude, very few students have an ambition to become a teaching professional due to less career growth. On the other hand, enforcement of laws to streamline the salaries and work pressure of the teachers would attract more young talent.