food travels thousand of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only eat local produce food. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many consumers eat foods that has been traveled thousands of miles away from their producers. Some people opine that it will be good for the economy if people only eat locally produced food. I agree with this view to a certain extent. In my opinion, consumption of regional foods will create jobs in local economy and help the environment, but if people only eat local produce food, they will have fewer choices.

To begin with, local foods are beneficial not only for the economy but for the environment as well. Primarily, transportation of internationally grown foods require burning more fossil fuel and this is detrimental to the environment. Locally grown foods are rich in proteins and nutrition and free from artificial added preservatives. Regional food are much healthier and fresher as it does not consume transit facilities unlike the processed grocery food items hence there will be massive reduction in the consumption of fuel if people start preferring locally grown food. Thus, it will be beneficial for the environment. Furthermore, many people get employment in this field. Small farmers have a chance to expand globally and it increase the overall economy progression of the country. People will prosper commercially as the demand for local and regional products would remain high withstanding competition from overseas.

On the other hand, eating locally produced foods alone is not viable option because there is a limit to the kind of food that can be grown in each place. For instances fruits such as apples and grapes can only be grown in cold climates. Likewise, there are so many vegetables that only grown in hot climates. There are many regions that are not suitable for cultivation. If people eat only what is available in their region, thus their choices of foods will be limited.

To conclude, if people give preference to the local produce, it will certainly benefit the environment and the local economy. Even so, in my opinion, consuming locally cultivated food alone is not a viable option because it will extremely limit the food choice people have.