Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own experience or knowledge.

The assertion that foreign visitors should be charged more than local when they visit local culture and tourist attractions in a country seems to me constitutes a fundamental confusion/misunderstanding about this issue. Whether to agree or not is a thought-provoking question. Personally. I, like many others, tend to totally agree with the viewpoint that foreign visitors should be charged more than local when they visit local culture and tourist attractions in a country.

There are several reasons why people think that foreign visitors should pay more while visiting local culture and tourist attraction. Firstly, as far as the differential pricing is concerned, the local government can earn substantial money that might be used for the maintenance, improvement and promotion of the national heritage and culture. In addition, in several poor countries, there is no way a common person can afford the kind of prices that these monuments deserve. This is a dent in the government coffers, but it is a decision in the national interest which the tourism department of the government has the right to make. Finally, arranging required infrastructures to attract foreigners need a huge investment which can be borne by the foreigners themselves.

There are, however, a number of people having opposite view. Firstly, it is not in the best interest of a nation to ask more from foreign tourist as it is clearly shows that the government considers foreigners a source of easy money. Moreover, charging a hefty amount from the foreigners is immoral. These have travelled far to know, experience and praise the historical and cultural Jewels, which are a treasure for the entire mankind and not just one nation. Furthermore this differential pricing might hinder the opportunity to promote national treasure worldwide. People from visiting countries will be less interested to know and enjoy others culture and heritage as it will be costly.

To sum up, in spite of the fact that there is a range of conflicting arguments both supporting and opposing this certain issue, as far as I can see, it ls much more justified to support the idea. I admit it may be costly to be overly optimistic but more costly still to be pessimistic.