Freedom of speech is highly valued by many democratic societies, and its absence is frequently excoriated. However, the issue of whether the right to speak freely is an essential ingredient of a free society is perhaps more difficult to determine. In my view, a society cannot describe itself as truly free unless its citizens have the ability to speak freely in most situations, although not all.

Free societies, in my view, do not have to tolerate every situation in which citizens express their views publicly. For example, many nations in Europe and North America punish people who use their power of speech to insult foreigners, or incite religious or racial hatred. Provided that such societies apply due process and punishments are proportionate to the offence, they can still be described as free. Another situation in which free speech can be curtailed by a free society is when national security is endangered. A case in point is Britain during the Second World War, which passed emergency laws that punished the passing of information that could have been useful to the enemy, like the geographical locations of factories. As long as such laws are lifted as soon as the danger passes, such a society in my view remains free.

Nevertheless, aside from exceptional situations like those mentioned above, I am of the view that the right to voice one’s opinions openly should be the norm in free societies. The starting point for this position is that citizens make up a country, pay taxes and benefit from the services that the country provides. Everything that a government does is actually done via its citizens, even if at times by only a select few in important positions. In order for a nation to function at all, clearly, some citizens in government positions have to voice their opinions and so influence executive and legislative decisions. It is therefore of the essence of being a citizen that one has the right to influence the decisions made by our governments, even if we are not always directly responsible for the implementation of such decisions. Without a general right to freedom of speech for all citizens, this kind of participation would be impossible, and in practice, only a small elite would be able to take decisions on behalf of whole nations. This is the case in repressive states like North Korea, where a tiny military elite runs the government, while the people whom they govern are unable to have any say in big decisions that affect them because of swingeing restrictions on their right to speak freely.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that freedom of speech is crucial to the definition of a free society, although there will always be some limited situations where this freedom is reduced.