In the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. This could be good for individuals but it may have negative consequences for society.

What are the benefits and risks of people living to 150?

Progress of medicine could make it possible to prolongate human’s longevity up to 150 years in the future. While bringing potentially positive news for a person, it could negatively affect society in general. In my essay, I will consider some advantages and disadvantages of this possible scenario.

On the positive side, if people lived longer, they might be more prolific. For example, scientists, musicians, painters could give significantly more results for the benefits of society. Another benefit might be the strengthening of family bonds, as old people could spend more time with their grandchildren and grand-grandchildren. It is important not only for a single person or family but for the society overall, as through this interaction, the cultural and historical heritage could be handed over. This could reinforce the national identity and rise the cultural level of the young generation.

However, there are some potential drawbacks of the extended life span as well. One of the major possible risks could become the overpopulation and consequent rapid depletion of natural resources. This could thereby lead to a global shortage of food and drinking water, making it impossible to feed the population. On the other hand, even in wealthiest countries, the tax pressure on the workforce would be probably increased considerably to ensure the welfare standards to the retired people. This could become a reason for massive social protests.

To summarize, while there are some undeniable merits to the idea of living to 150 years, it could be concluded that possible drawbacks for the humankind would outweigh them. Thus, I think that with current careless attitude to nature, the human rasa is not ready to take all the costs of luxury to live for 150 years.