Global warming is one of the most serious issues facing the world today. What are some of the causes of global warming? What can governments and individual do to solve the problem?

It is true that over the last 50 years, the average global temperature has risen tremendously. The serious issue which is a threat to all nations is global warming. Global warming is the result of carbon emissions and deforestation. However, there are various measures that could be taken to tackle this issue by governments and individuals.

Gases such as carbon dioxide and methane trap the sunlight within the earth’s atmosphere, which gives rise to the global temperature. This process is known as the greenhouse effect and caused by carbon emissions and deforestation. In other words, not only are their many cars on the road which produces emissions and exhaust fumes but manufacturing industries as well. As a result, many nations are facing the problem of global warming. Moreover, due to the development of countries and an increase in the population, forests are being cut down at a rapid rate. Despite trees help us keep up the earth’s temperature cool and absorb carbon dioxide, mankind cuts them down for the development of industrialization.

To resolve this issue, governments and people play a crucial role. In terms of governments, they can pass strict legislation for not cutting down the trees. In other words, they can be penalized heavily who cut down the tree for the development of industries, buildings and malls. Moreover, many plants should be planted by the government on the land which is not used for cultivation. This will result in a small reduction in the earth’s temperature. In terms of individuals, they can reduce self-reliance on cars or motor-vehicles. Wherever possible they could use public transport, in order to save fossil fuels. Also, they can install led bulbs which are used to save electricity; if they do not need the electricity, they can switch it off. Such a small contribution of saving electricity in future leads to a contribution to the reduction of global warming.

In conclusion, emission of carbon dioxide and other gases through cars and factories and cutting down the forest are major contributors to global warming. Only when the government passes the strict regulation for not cutting down the tree and an individual encourages the use of public transport, will these issues be fully resolved.