The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the present age, the question of whether governments' investment in arts is necessary or not, has sparkled many debates. Some people assert that it is completely a waste of money and time. Nevertheless, personally speaking, I am in favor of the latter view, which believes the investment in arts is a must.

Convincing arguments can be made that arts act as a predominant role in human society, and have a noble status in human civilization. First and foremost, arts are not only about beauty and aesthetic value, but also represent a crucial way of people to explore the realistic world, reflect on the ultimate issues, such as the meaning of living and the value of human civilization, etc. It lends a helping hand for the confused and hopeless people who urge to find ways to realize their dreams. Moreover, our contemporary society can never abandon arts, and that's because it is ubiquitous. For instance, the production and operation of short videos, the most fashionable and commercially valuable mode of transmission nowadays, can not be separated from the addition of arts. People love high quality videos which are a blend of marvelous music and tremendous pictures.

The direct association between economy and arts is also easy to tell. To start with, the annual output of the entertainment industry reaches billions of yuan in China. In addition, auction of valuable work of art has been one of the most significant means for wealthy people to manage their finances.

To conclude, art plays a crucial role in human society and can create great economic value. So investment in arts is indispensable for governments.