It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Undeniably, there are situations in people’s careers and daily lives which requires them to decide on risky problems. Taking risks or adopting a more conservative approach is both an option. From my perspective, the benefits of riskier options weigh larger than its downsides, and can catalyze higher achievements in both work and life.

On the one hand, critics who object taking risks may point out that uncertainties and failures could cause disruptions that may lead to mental and physical damages. The guilt and remorse aroused by unsuccessful experiences in taking risks may be hard to recover from. Financial loss is another common result of investing in risky projects. Either way, it means that people would have to start again from the beginning and reconsider their choices, resulting in more time and money wasted. Without a strong personality and firm financial background, failures in taking risks may even be catastrophic.

On the other hand, it could be argued that challenging risks can push people to improve and progress, especially in their careers. Risks are directly connected to rewards, one can simply not achieve high returns if they are so risk averse. Bill Gates is one successful and reknowned example of taking risks. He beared the uncertainties and pressure of withdrawing from university, and founded Microsoft, one of the most successful companies in the world. Besides, taking risks could lead to a more adventurous and exciting life. Those reluctant to challenge themselves and are satisfied with current situations many only live dull and pain lives. Life is short if one can’t dare to take adventures, they would always regret it. Lastly, ad the saying goes, failure is the mother of success. Even if you fail after taking risks, you could learn from those defeats and improve yourself, increasing the chances of success in later attempts.

In conclusion, I contend that the positive aspects of taking risks is superior to its disadvantages, for it stimulates higher potentials of people and keep people improving themselves.