The government should ban smoking in all public areas even though it would restrict some of people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree?

Different people’s attitude toward smoking has always been ambiguous in all the societies. Smoking needs to be prohibited in the crowded areas, although such a measure would encroach upon smokers’ rights. I completely agree with this statement and believe that smoking is unacceptable in the public places.

Firstly, tobacco consumption is extremely destructive for the internal organs of a person and has an aggravating effect on health in general. This is because tobacco contains nicotine in a cigarette, which, when burned, releases carbon dioxide, nicotinic acid and some tar, which is deposited in the lungs and leads to the development of cancer. Therefore, smokers with airways filled with toxic substances are very much at risk to their health. For example, according to the World Health Organization, about half of people suffering from lung cancer smoke. In other words, smoking causes serious airway problems.

Secondly, the process of smoking is accompanied by a smell that may be unpleasant to individuals at close proximity. This is because for a long time, at the genetic level, the human brain has perceived the scent of burning as a threat to health, therefore it causes negative emotions. Proceeding from this a smoker in a crowd of people will emphasize unwanted attention, feelings of disgust and even aggression. For instance, a study conducted by canadian scientists found that the smell of tobacco causes 6 out of 10 people to release norepinephrine, a hormone that provokes feelings of anger. In other words, the scent of a burnt cigarette is perceived in a negative manner by the majority of human beings.

In conclusion, I fully agree with the fact that smoking affects the human lungs of nicotine and tar to nearby people from the smell of conjugated tobacco should be banned in public places.