The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Youth violence is a shared social problem. many people thus propose that government need to tackle this issue by controlling the media, whom people see as responsible for inciting this through films and television While youth are undoubtedly swayed by external influences. I disagree that it is a government’s obligation to censor the entertainment industry: rather, it is up to society itself to handle the matter.

Today’s Young people may be influenced by many things, from films to websites to their peers. It is unreasonable, then, to single out films and sitcoms as a main influencer of violence. In other words, Kids may see violence and kindness, greed and generosity, and all other human behaviors in pretty equal measure everywhere. They can witness all of these things in one news broadcast or viral YouTube clip just as easily as they can in action flick. Therefore, blaming the entertainment industry is not only unfair, it is also wrong that it ignores the root causes of certain social behaviors. To suggest that the government can control this to avoid taking responsibility for others.

Indeed, a government’s role is not to act as parents to its citizen, but to maintain order and provide the tools for society to thrive; it should not tell people what they can and cannot do. On the other hand, Parents can and must oversee what their children are exposed to, be it online, in a movie, a book, or any other source. Consequently, Parents must decide whether they want their children to watch a horror movie. It is not the government's duty to ban studios for making it. Furthermore, once we allow the government to engage in censorship in one area, it will be free to act in all spheres of our lives because negative influences are everywhere and have always been so. Restricting, people’s access to media will not stop the violence. In fact, it may increase it as citizens begin to fight for their freedoms.

In conclusion, Social behavior patterns are impacted by many things, including, but not limited to media products, and society should take care control of this. The government should not allow to restrict what films or tv companies produce because they will then have to spread their control to all other areas of society.