Governments and big companies should work together to reverse environmental damage, rather than making individuals responsible for that.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent decades, due to a sharp rise in population and increased consumerism, there has been an enourmous strain on the environmental resources and an increase in environmental pollution. Some believe that the responsibility for reversing this damage to the environment lies with the governments and corporations, instead of the individual consumers. Personally, I strongly agree with this notion and I will give a few reasons why

that is the case.

To begin with, the options available for individuals to reduce their impact on the environment are very limited. Despite an increase in awareness about environmental change, consumers have to buy from a limited set of options which suit their budgets and needs. Most of the cheaper goods which are affordable are mass produced and have a greater impact on the environment. Even though there may be options available in the market which are more sustainably produced, they often charge a premium which may not be affordable to many people. Clearly, cost factors prevents individuals from buying more eco-friendly products which is sometimes preventable by government regulations and subsidies.

Many large corporations also misuse the lack of government regulations around manufacturing and choose manufacturing processes which are not necessarily good for the environment. Packaging, for instance has heavily relied on plastic which causes a lot of pollution when disposed off and is not biodegradable. Such manufacturing practices seriously disturb the air quality and also pose dangers to marine life and wild life. Even though an individual chooses to buy products which are claimed to be "eco-friendly" with the best of intentions, they may be inadvertently contributing to all of the above damage to the environment and have no way of knowing about it.

In conclusion, governments and big corporations have a greater role, resources and the power to work together in unison to implement manufacturing practices that can repair the damage to our environment. While individual awareness about the issue is also very important, governments and corporations should put in place stricter policies and regulations that enable indivuduals to buy more sustainable and eco-friendly products.