Governments should not provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people say that government should take the responsibility of providing all the necessary support to people when they retire, whereas others opine individuals to provide for themselves after retirement. In my opinion, I support the idea of government providing for their elderly citizens after they leave the workforce.

On one hand, there are some valid arguments supporting the view of people to provide for themselves after retirement. This is because if government takes the responsibility of taking care of elderly people, then it will put unnecessary burden on younger generation, in the form of higher taxes who might already be coping with inflation levels within their economies. For example, such a scenario is already prevalent in Japan. Moreover, one has enough time before retirement to make all the necessary arrangements to provide for themselves at an elderly age. Therefore, individuals should plan and manage their finances in a way so they can look after themselves in future.

On the other hand, many people argue governments to take the responsibility of supporting their elderly citizens after retirement. This is because, these people have already shared their income with government in the form of taxes. Therefore, after retirement they have all the right to get the necessary support from the governmental authorities. This can be, for example, in the form of monthly pensions, free or subsidized healthcare, concessions on public transport etc.

To recapitulate, there are various arguments to support both the viewpoints as stated above. However, I believe governments to take the ownership of looking after retirees, as these people have already paid taxes to the government during their lifetime.