Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We, the 21st generation, are way more mobile than previous generations of ours. Today that we are dealing with excessive air pollution, congested freeways and the fuel price soaring, choosing the best transportation system to invest in has raised some controversies. My firm conviction goes with railway expansion as it would address some of our today’s challenges.

Capable of carrying numerous passengers at a time, unquestionably, trains elbow aside cars when it comes to efficiency. Thousands of cars being trapped in the traffic jam has turned into an everyday scene in most metropolitans. These personal vehicles, if fully utilized, can fit five passengers top. On the other hand, trains offer a greener, more sustainable means of transportation with which hundreds of these people can take a trip. Ergo, not only would railway expansion alleviate the traffic, but it would also participate in combatting against air pollution.

Trains are believed to be the safest means of transportation. With all the advancement we have made in making our cars safe, there are still heart-rending accidents which result in casualties ranging from small injuries to lethal ones. On contrary to cars, trains accidents are very rare which is a reliable indicator of their safety. Hence, with investing in railways more people can travel harm-free.

In conclusion, I believe that with more trains around, we may at least be able to make a small dent in ever-mounting traffic and its inevitable consequence, the air pollution. Moreover, we can avoid or at least lower the frequency of car accidents by offering a more reliable transportation system.