In some countries, it is illegal to reject a job application because of the applicant's age.

Is it positive or negative?

While in some countries it is against law to turn down job applicants with regards to their age, the merits and demerits of formulating a policy about this case are under debate. Although it is plainly obvious that the underlying cause of such laws is to protect the workforce, it is still not a good idea to enforce such policies as laws as it could lead to other workplace problems.

Companies, usually the ones that are highly-agile and founded by an entrepreneur, tend to hire younger workforce as it gives them the opportunity to shape their workforce as they please. These companies argue that by hiring a young employee, they would develop a more energetic and passionate environment which is more suitable for an innovative project. Today, more than ever, HR teams are concerned with teams' structure and its atmosphere and it is a priority to set up a team of people who can function as a whole. By enforcing employees from different ages to work together, it could be a challenging job to set up an adaptable team.

On the other hand, governments have yet the responsibility to take care of the workforce who are at their mid-forties or fifties. By enforcing this law, governments are putting the pressure on public and private sectors in order to tackle the unemployment issue of the older workforce. Although we know undoubtedly that the sole purpose of this law is workforce protection, it is yet to be revised to function at the workforce’s benefit. Employees who have a decade of experience on a matter may not be the most suitable candidates for a start-up company and its day-to-day challenges, however, there are positions that suits their gained skills and knowledge in other companies. Companies should be authorized to decide based on the position and their culture to accept or reject an applicant and by deploying some encouraging policies, companies would be triggered to use older workforce wherever and whenever they can.

Hiring employees of different ages always have some benefits and drawbacks; while a young employee is more energetic and innovative, an old one is equipped with skills and vast knowledge. Companies must have the right to choose based on their needs and culture so they can optimize their throughput. Governments should formulate encouraging policies to motivate HR strategists to put older employees into work.