Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is longer sentences. Others may think there are alternative ways to this problem.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

Whether sentencing criminals to long-time jail is the most effective way of tackling the crime rate is an ongoing discussion. However, some believe that there are better options.

Long imprisonment is an approach that many thinks could significantly reduce the crime rate as the ones with criminal records are sentenced to stay most of their lives in jail and society does not suffer from their misbehaves. This approach may have some valid points when we are dealing with dangerous criminals, particularly the ones who were engaged in homicide and are diagnosed with mental problems. The purpose of this long imprisonment is to maintain the safety of other members of the society. Yet, not all the criminal acts are that sever.

Sentencing criminals with minor criminal records such as robbery to endure long imprisonment has unwanted consequences. Bearing in mind that an individual who commits a minor crime might be dealing with financial crises or might not be educated or skilled enough for a job, it is governments’ accountability to support these wrongdoers to be able to fit in the society. As otherwise, the cost of imprisoning all the criminals would be a huge burden on the shoulders of society and tax-payers. Moreover, these wrongdoers will never learn a better living approach and even after enduring their long sentences, they would have no option but to commit another crime so they can afford their expenses.

It is undeniable that punishment is crucial when we are dealing with crimes and it is unlikely that without punishment we could ever create a safe society. As undeniable the punishment necessity is, it still important to note that the applied sentence must have educatory purposes and make the imprisoned person a better member of the society after being released. Therefore, I believe providing education and teaching skills, is a more effective measure which will give criminals other alternatives in their lives and, consequently, will result in less criminal acts.