Some people think that only staff who worked in the company for a long time should be promoted to higher positions.

What is your opinion on this?

Give reasons and relevant examples for your answer.

Working our way up the career ladder is one of everyone’s primary goals and being promoted is the sweetest dream of every single employee. Companies adopt a vast variety of policies to promote staff fairly and productively and to keep them constantly motivated. Some believe that an individual who has spent more time in a company deserve preferential treatment when it comes to promotions, while some argue that other factors are equally important and should be taken into account. As an employee who has gone through ups and downs of working in an International corporation, I sincerely believe that although commitment to the company is an appreciable feature of a workforce, it should not be its only reason.

Working for a corporation for a long time is usually interpreted as a commitment notion to the company’s values and culture and is a representation of being well-adapted to its core values. It is commonly believed that employees who have spent a considerable amount of time in a place, usually develop a sense of dedication to the company and are more willing to scarify a thing or two to contribute more. Employees with such attribute are the potential candidates for a promotion and if they experience being constantly ignored in such opportunities for some time, may start to gradually lose their extremely-valuable dedication to the company. Therefore, it is fair to say that for the company’s own benefit, keeping old committed staff happy is a win-win deal. Yet, having a legacy in a system is not the only qualification which should be highlighted in such decisions.

An employee’s job may be challenging on various aspects and requires a great deal of knowledge and skills, yet after a promotion, that individual might need to handle some human-interactions difficulties that every manager or supervisor needs to deal with and it’s not where everyone shines at. Promoting an employee may have consequences on the office dynamics and, consequently, must be decided carefully. Therefore, in a condition where there are two candidates with the equally-good skills and knowledge, the one that is working for a longer period of time might deserve the preferential treatment; otherwise, we could end up having a demotivated employee that no longer holds the company’s best interest in heart.

In the decision-making process, it is crucial to be a fair judge of employees’ contribution, knowledge, experience, and their attributes. Promoting an employee is an acknowledgment of their shining contribution to the system and will keep them happy and motivated. Deciding whether an individual deserves to get one is a challenging process that put equal emphasis both on one’s skills and one’s background in the corporation.