Some psychologists believe that to overcome stress, it is important to spend some time doing nothing productive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Write at least 250 words.

Spending some non-productive time is considered to be one of the method of dealing with stress. Although this method could be beneficial to some, it is highly unlikely to be a recommended-to-all approach and I sincerely doubt that it could effectively tackle this issue.

Those who are fond of the mentioned approach suggest that stress is usually intrigued when we are dealing with a challenge that we doubt we could ever overcome. By getting engaged in activities that we consider non-productive, and possibly easily doable, we have the chance to take our mind off those challenges for a while and feel better about our capabilities. To support this theory, psychologists even have conducted studies on patients who were suffering from stress disorder and studies documented a decrease in stress level of some patients who were engaged in leisure activities such as reading a novel or watching a movie on a regular basis. However, the same study has proved this method to be ineffective on patients who were suffering from severe stress disorder.

By referring to the result of this study, some psychologists argue that this approach is not as effective as the public wants it to be. Indeed, considering the difference in patients’ background and the factors that each patient finds stress-inducing, finding such a universal approach is almost implausible. These group of psychologists wholeheartedly advocate the necessity of therapy and medication in order to find the underlying cause of this disorder. Scarcely those who have received medication and therapy have needed to use these approaches as they have tackled the root cause.

Despite to the fact that simple approaches of stress management is being widely advertised all the time and public tends to believe them, tackling stress requires a much more sophisticated measures and trying to divert our attention for a short period of time is only a short-term solution.