Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

A future university student has to make decisions about his/her residency sometimes even before making any decision about the university itself. Some give the higher significant to studying in the same city as the parents and some choose to move out and experience independence and adulthood life.

Starting university is regarded as a pivotal point in a person’s life as the chosen major will be the person’s job, probably for the next 30 to 40 years. Consequently, what we gain from this education has undeniable significance on our lives. Having a shining performance during the bachelor degree is the first prerequisite of receiving admission and financial aid for the master and doctorate degree. Studies confirmed students who stay with their parents during university education, tend to have a more shining performance in comparison to ones who are living independently because parents will take care of everything just as they do in their child’s high school period. However, the academic aspect is only one of the many aspects that university students are going to gain experience at.

Social interaction is coupled with university life and being exposed to cultural diversity is an excellent opportunity that living in a dormitory can offer. Living with other mates is a life-saving practice that will teach us how to efficiently get along with others and how to manage the work-fun balance. Many students admit that dealing with their first foreigner roommate was not an easy job at the beginning, but they happen to bond at the end, irrespective of their cultural differences. A survey done by the University of Chicago reported that parents believe their child has made impressive personality development and is acting more responsibly since he/she has attended university in a different city.

Bearing in mind that university life has a wide array of roles to play in our lives, living apart from parents is an excellent chance of character evolvement. Despite the fact that it might have some short-term unwanted outcome, such as bad grades and feeling homesick at the beginning, the final outcome is so invaluable that we could claim it does worth it.