With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on more genetically modified foods.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

The scarcity of nutrition supply is becoming apparent, so some genetics scientists suggest solving this problem by transformed DNA. This essay will consider the pros and cons of this kind of food.

Let us begin with merits of food with modified genetic structure. The first advantage is that it is resistant to both illnesses and pesticides. Most vegetables and fruits perish in large numbers because of various diseases as well as unwanted insects, but genetically altered food are immune to many infections and have an unattractive smell for pesticides. Another benefit is that its production is relatively more fruitful. Food with modified genes can grow faster and bigger than traditional ones, so more people can feed on them. Furthermore, It can thrive in dry regions. Due to its ability to consume small amounts of water, this sort of vegetation can flourish, for example, in desserts or mountains.

Despite the above mentioned benefits, genetically modified foodstuff has many drawbacks. First of all, it may cause some serious disorders. Food with generic modification has allegedly resulted in a few cases of cancer, but medicine organization has not acknowledged these incidents yet. Secondly, genetically altered food has some negative impacts on the environment. When it penetrates the soil as household waste, it usually poisons trees and small animals. Finally, it is hardly possible to find traditional food in large markets. Genetically modified food is prevailing in the market thanks to its low price and making the sale of conventional food unprofitable; therefore, if one wants to buy unaltered vegetables, they have to address private gardeners.

In conclusion, genetically changed food has both positive and negative sides.