Happiness is considered very important in life.

Why is it difficult to define?

What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Civilization has been bringing human beings tremendous convenience and comfort, and yet people are not truly happy to a certain extent. Not only have they confused the notions of pleasure and happiness from outside, but they also have not yet grasped the way to enjoy life profoundly from within.

Life is impermanence, so is happiness. People are miserable because they can not procure what they want, and even when ones acquire it, they are unhappy because nothing is permanent. People often opt to have countless amusements and sensualities, but they can not feel at ease or have any relaxation. Paradoxically, desiring to be happy is indeed suffering, but embracing pain to transform it, as giving mud to a lotus, is a kind of happiness. If people can touch a pebble or a flower with any thinking like a baby, hence joy and peace will be at every moment. To have a deep insight into happiness, people only need one thing: it is letting go of any perceptions about happiness and start to see life as it is.

Happiness is not somewhere else away from us, happiness is the way we live. For instance, we do not need any factors or conditions to enjoy our breath, merely breathe and feel that you alive is a wonder. Additionally, people also should not obsess too much about reaching the summit to feel peaceful. They can enjoy the beautiful scenery along with the way or even the pains and aches which are helping them flourish stronger. Thus, there is nothing that aids us to taste life as best as ourselves.

In brief, there is no definition and way for happiness, that is itself the way and our own experience. Also, it may be problematic to achieve joy from outside, but it is always accessible to be in touch from within.