Happiness is considered very important in life.

Why is it difficult to define?

What factors are important in achieving happiness?

In this highly competitive era, maintaining real happiness has become a difficult task. Happiness has a different meaning for all people. Happiness indicates the best state of mind. Although all of us have experienced happiness at some point of time in our lives, it is arduous to define it. This essay will explore the reason behind this and the essential factors affecting the realization of happiness.

Firstly, various people have various levels of needs. These unsatisfied demands further stimulate an individual to act in order to satisfy them. Once the desired requirements are satisfied, an individual starts aspiring to achieve other wishes. Fulfillment of demands leads to satisfaction which further provides happiness to a person. Therefore, it can be said that happiness is a by-product of satisfaction. Moreover, happiness is nothing but just a state of mind. Since people perceive happiness differently so they find it difficult to quantify. For example, an affluent person may not be contented with what he has, but a poor person can be happy while struggling for a day’s meal.

Secondly, there are various determining factors for happiness. The first and foremost is a feeling of contentment. A person who has a feeling of satisfaction always remains happy. Simply, such a person is happy with his work and life but still aspires for more and more to learn and to achieve. A person is either controlled by external factors, or he is capable to control them. As a result, his happiness is decided by other people or things, not by his own mind. If people are able to control their minds, then they can control their own happiness, no matter what the situations are.

In conclusion, happiness depends on our attitudes and thoughts. As far as we have the key to happiness in our hands, nothing external in this world can affect the level of our happiness and contentment