Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the

causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what ef ects does it have on the people concerned and on

society as a whole?

In this century world has so many problems that if these issues are not solved immediately then our next generation will face a devastating situation. Illiteracy is one of the major concern for most of the countries because people will not be conscious about the future of the world until they are educated.

Firstly, in my opinion poverty is the main reason of illiteracy. because, many poor countries where a person suffer to fulfill their daily needs like food, clothes there it was beyond of their limits to send their children in schools and colleges. In third world countries among the population most of them have very low income. They have to struggle continuously so that they can at least feed themselves regularly.From where the money will come for education. Moreover, because of hardship they are not even think of their children's education. Sometimes, some of them are going to school up to class 5 or 6 and after that hey do not continue their study because of shortage of money.

Undoubtedly, the second cause is overpopulation because of it institutes are over crowded and have an adverse effect on education. Classrooms are congested by students and for this teacher can hardly teach them. Even if some country has lots of schools and colleges but the numbers are very low in terms of their population. In these countries many families have five or more children and parents cannot afford to educate all their children and from here gender discrimination comes. Often they only give this chance to their sons to educate themselves not their daughters.

Finally, unawareness of the government and society is another reason. Rather than spend money on other factors government should spend most of the money on education. many countries have made education free for their people. This should be done all the countries in the world. And the intellectual people of the society should come forward and give volunteer education to the poor people so that at least they know their basic rights and responsibilities.

In conclusion, education is the backbone of a nation. if all the people are enlightened and they know their duties towards the society it will give benefits to the nation. So necessary steps should be taken by the governments of the countries as soon as possible to reduce illiteracy rate.