Immigration has a major impact on society. What are the main reasons of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statement?

It is often argued that immigration nowaday has a significant impact on modern society. One of the main reasons of immigration is that it can create multi-cultural societies. Although I agree there are benefits, I believe that immigration can also discriminate in certain cultures.

To begin with, most migrants have different backgrounds. It is a positive influence on society when they start to live in a foreign country because they bring new values and languages. For example, when I was studying in Australia, I could always see a variety of restaurants and people talking in different languages on the street, because Australia is a multicultural society that is made up of a wide range of cultures. Also, a multi-cultural city can attract more tourists to visit. Therefore, immigration can create a society that has attraction and diversity.

On the other hand, people of many different nationalities live together in the same city but have different values and lifestyles. It is possible to attract attention and conflict because of misunderstanding each other. For instance, the local stores might worry that migrants cannot speak their language and choose not to serve them. Furthermore, some people could be affected by stereotypes such as dress or appearance and being rude or unfriendly at school or in the workplace. As a result, despite immigration bringing diverse cultures into societies, it also causes discrimination.

To sum up, this essay has argued that immigration has an important impact on modern society creating multiculturalism, but it also discriminate in certain cultures.