Smacking children is the best from of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days it has become difficult to discipline children. Some people believe that the best way to teach children discipline is by physical punishment. This essay will argue that smacking children is totally unacceptable and will elaborate the reasons why I disagree with it.

Those parents who think of various ways to discipline their children claim that smacking children. People as parents always need to monitor children’s behavior, and try to educate them in the physical way. Moreover, in traditional families, they used discipline children to get good manners by authority. This does not promote trust between adults and children. For example, some parents used to physical punishment to prevent them doing impolite behaviors. Therefore, children can be disciplined by parents within physical punishment, but it also makes them scared to make mistakes.

On the other hand, corporal punishment creates an atmosphere of fear and anger. Children who are punished physically may become shy or resentful. Furthermore, children might be affected by the fear of punishment and they will be afraid of making mistakes. For instance, they will fear telling parents that they failed their exam in school. It not only changes their attitude facing the failure, but also makes them choose to be dishonest. All things considered, the statement that corporal punishment is the best way to discipline children is completely unacceptable.

To sum up, this essay has argued that smacking children is inappropriate while some people still believe physically punishing children. In my opinion, physically punishing children is definitely not the correct method to discipline them.