The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise.

The internet is an useful invention and has revolutionized the way we communicate with friends and families. It is often argued that advancement in the internet provides minimum interaction amongst people. Despite all that, I believe that the internet creates a new social skill in modern society.

Firstly, I believe that the advantage of the internet is that it has linked the long distance communication gap between friends and families. One can connect to anyone anywhere with the click of a button. Social networking sites such as Facebook are one of the main examples. For example, people can follow the updates of their friends and interact with each other. Furthermore, they can also see each other immediately by using online programs such as Skype. Thus, the internet is a worthwhile tool to communicate with friends and families.

On the other hand, the internet has created a new social behavior as a skill that most people have to learnt how to exert. Once people connect to the internet it is like a link to the world, which has no limitations and no range of barriers. For instance, people can keep in touch by email or instant message service and online meetings are becoming common for business, which is more efficient and time saving than having to travel. Overall, the internet definitely makes people’s lives not only more convenient but also closer relationships.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that the internet minimizes people’s interaction and it minimizes their social skills. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that the internet weakens people’s relationships but develops powerful methods of connecting people.