The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognised as increasing numbers of species come under threat.

What can be done to maintain biodiversity?

In recent years there has been growing awareness of the importance of preserving the world’s biological diversity. As increasing numbers of unique, and potentially useful, plants and animals come under threat, people are beginning to ask whether more can be done to reserve this trend.

One possible approach is to regulate agricultural and industrial activity so that pollution and disruption to natural habitats is kept to a minimum. people argue that economic prosperity must be curtailed if it comes at the expense of the environment. however, businesses affected are unlikely to comply with such a strategy. it may even generate hostility to conservation efforts generally if the economic costs are perceived to be too high.

An alternative approach would to be protect and expand nature reserves so that complete ecosystems can be kept intact. this would ensure that a minimum number of wild plants and animals would survive. however, although such places are indeed valuable, experience shows that it is difficult to protect rare plants and animals from exploitation. In fact, as some species, like the tiger, become rarer, the more valuable they become to poachers and others who seek to benefit from their trade.

A more effective approach is to educate the public about the benefits of biodiversity. Money should be invested in the research and the development of the world’s biological resources. Once people understand that there are real benefits to exploiting natural resources in a sustainable way, they are more likely to make the short-term sacrifices necessary to preserve natural habitats.