The increase in mobile phones use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take?

Do you think advantages outweigh the disadvantages of mobile phones?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There is an adage, which says fire and water are good servants, but bad masters, I think, mobile phones also should be added as the third element, which serves as a good servant, but is a bad master. The off springs of technology are many, right from computes, to mobile phones, smart TV’s, smart watches and now, the entire home right from the refrigerator to the lights and fans can be connected to the internet and can be operated upon a simple tap through the mobile.

Mobile phones have revolutionized human life to such an extent that, our life revolves around it from the moment we wake up till our eyes doze off. It has pushed boundaries, broken barriers and has shrunk the world into our palm, providing easy access to business, communication and entertainment. But there is always another side to a coin; nothing can be loaded with goodness only and so is the case with mobile phones. The radiation being exhibited not only from the phone, but also from the network towers, has been a long standing concern, which many leading personas in the medical field, indicate is the primary reason for the increase in cancer patients. The other effects include, strain to the eyes, strain to the locomotive muscles located in the hands, bending of neck and so on. To top it all, there are also psychological issues, like attention disorder, social isolation, becoming drawn into oneself and so on.

I quote from the old Tamil classic Thirukural, written by Thiruvalluvar, that anything in excess, even if it’s a good thing, is bad for oneself. So is the case with Mobile phones, though their benefits and advantages outweigh the negatives, but still the disadvantages speak for themselves and are definitely not worth ignoring.