With an increase in the number of privately owned vehicles, roads are becoming more congested. What measures could both government and individuals take to deal with this situation?

An increasing number of personally owned vehicles are currently having a negative impact on traffic congestion. this problem has caused by several factors, and it should be tackled by both individual and government.

there are some reasons why people prefer to possess their own means of transports. one of the first reason is that having private transport can be very convenient when it comes to traveling for a long distance. living in canada, for instance, is a good example in this case as it is a must to own a car there because people are usually living far away from the city to save expense when most of the decent jobs are available in town. Another reason worth mentioning is that public transports are not popular in many parts of developing countries; therefore, people have difficulties to travel from their places to their purposed destination. Not only is the availability of public transports scarce, but also waiting times are unacceptably long. In some remote areas, for example, Niagara falls in canada, there is only one bus every one hour to go from downtown to the falls.

Fortunately, some measures can be taken to lessen the negative effects of this problem. The first solution would be to invest more money on public transports so that people could travel straightforwardly to the destination without the need of using their own vehicles. As a result, there are fewer cars traveling within city during rush hours as people have efficient alternatives which even cost them less money. In addition, the government should impose heavy taxes on cars so that fewer people could afford to purchase them. Consequently, people will deliberate more thoughtfully before making a decision in relation to the car's possession. individuals could also contribute to the decrease in traffic congestion by simply not driving during peak hours.

In conclusion, people want to have their own vehicles due to the lack of convenience and availability of public transports. both government and individual should hold accountable for implementing the above indicated solutions to tackle this issue.