Overfishing of the world’s oceans threatens many species with extinction and is putting the livelihood of millions of people around the world at risk. What are the causes of this problem and what can be done to prevent it from happening?

excessive fishing has been a controversial topic for decades since it is not only a reason for the extinction of a great number of marine species but it also threatens the livelihood of human beings. this problem is caused by several factors, and it should be tackled by both government and individuals which will be outlined carefully in this essay.

there are some primary reasons why people catch fish excessively. one of the first reason is that fishery could bring traders a lump sum of money as there are more and more demands for ocean products, especially from wealthy families. As a matter of fact, farmed goods are no longer trusted by consumers because they are characterized as humble products which have been processed with poisonous chemicals to achieve appealing appearance. Customers, therefore, are in favor of plates of seafood as they are believed to be less harmful to human's health, and this fact encourages fishman to implement huge catches illegally. Another reason worth mentioning is that advanced technology has made fishing become more effortlessly than it was ever before. Take mined fishing as an example of a farming breakthrough since this method is unprecedented in history; however, this causes a great number of aquatic lives to suffer from the possibility of extinction.

Fortunately, some measures can be taken into account to avoid this issue. The first solution is that the government should impose high taxes on the prices of the ocean's products, which could shrink the demand in consuming those natural resources. As a result, the more people lack interests in dining seafood, the more fish can be saved. In addition, individuals should hold accountable for reducing the number of marine products that they purchase. it is possible to achieve sustainable development in the long run by raising public awareness in alleviating environmental problems.

In conclusion, overfishing is one of the most noticeable issues which requires both government and individuals concerns. this problem occurred for many reasons and indicated solutions should be produced soon to tackle this matter