With the increased demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched natural places.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

There is currently a contentious argument that oil and gas should be found in undiscovered possible reserves due to increase of demand for natural sources of energy. Although some benefits can be seen from this, the drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, the exploitation of yet-to-find natural energy resources will bring certain values to the public. First of all, the enlargement of oil and gas extraction and mining benefits to the stabilisation of the prices for natural fuel in the world. This would satisfy the existing demand and ensure smooth access to energy resources on the international market. Another important merit is that the development of oil and gas extraction spots will attract businesses to the rural and remote areas. This will stimulate the creation of working places for local residents, movements of active population to smaller towns and fair distribution of employment opportunities within a country.

Despite those said advantages, I still believe that the downsides of use of oil and gas deposits in order to satisfy the needs for natural energy resources are more worrying. The first drawback is that the natural resources are limited, and according to the expert forecasts, they will run out in a few decades if the population continue to overuse them in such quantities as today. That is why the scientists all over the world are looking for alternative sources of power and promote the ideas of rational consumption. Furthermore, the extraction of natural resources damages the environment. In fact, many natural disasters and accidents involving dies of workers, had happened at the extraction spots due to unwillingness of businesses to invest in safety inspections.

In conclusion, it seems to me that regarding the obvious economical benefits of mining the natural resources from remote places such as equation of prices and employment opportunities, these positive features are eclipsed by significant shortcomings related to the littleness of natural reserves and harmful effects on the nature. Given the situation, it seems that the invention and implementation of alternative sources of the energy would ensure the need in energy resources and would save the planet.