Nowadays, the expansion of the tourism sector in developing countries is an alarming trend to build a nation's economy. And, I believe that this kind of development has its own merits and demerits which could be further explained in a detailed manner.

There are a certain number of reasons for this ongoing trend of focusing on the growth of infrastructure services in developing nations. However, I will be explaining the two well-known prominent reasons. Firstly, It helps locals to build businesses which in turn flourishes the economy of a country. To exemplify, many multinational companies which have been set up in developing nations are given an opportunity to locals to build small businesses in their region. Those businesses are hotels, restaurants, and convenient means of transport. This kind of opportunity has not only created more employment for the residents but also has generated huge revenue in the tourism industry of a nation. Secondly, the tourism sector plays an important role by building relationships with other countries when a foreign citizen comes to travel to another nation for work or vacation. In other words, a person who comes for a holiday to another country gets a chance to learn about their culture and tradition. By visiting a new place, he or she builds relationships with locals of that particular region in the form of friendship. Therefore, the above two reasons justify why developing countries are expanding the tourism industry.

Like I said earlier, this kind of development has brought advantages and disadvantages to developing countries. On the one hand, it has created new jobs for locals by inclining the rate of employment which in turn has built an economy of a country. This could be viewed by a recent survey from Oxford University which has shown that more than fifty percent of revenue in the tourism sector is generated from countries like India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and other emergent nations. On the other hand, I think that the expansion of the tourism sector has given drawbacks to indigenous people. Chiefly, environmental contamination such as air pollution, water pollution has been increased due to the visit of foreign tourists that has affected the lives of local citizens in a particular region. Locals are not able to sustain a healthier environment for themselves because of outsiders contaminating their regions while polluting them. For instance, many tourists coming to the Himalayas are throwing plastics in the lakes and rivers instead of dustbins which results contaminates the water and becoming a slow poison to locals.

To conclude, the development of the tourism sector has given a prime benefit to locals by creating employment and establishing different businesses in their region, however, it has also negatively impacted the environmental conditions which could be encountered if government take necessary steps to prevent such problems with the growth of tourism industry.