Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I disagree. A healthy environment represent a quality life where a good quality air and pure water for drinking are existing in the surrounding. Whether or not the city or place where we living contains a good quality air to inhale or availability of pure drinking water are highly depend on a external factor which is the environment. Human activities damages the environment. For example, our transportation mode like bike riding, car riding, flights, trains, and ships all consume and burn fossil fuel and creating energies to move.

World government makes rules and regulation and obliges the organizations and its citizens to follow the same in order to protect and improve the environment conditions so that we all will have a good quality of life. However it must start from individual who working in an organization wants to protect and improve the environment. For example if my organization has a policy in use of printers which oblige all employees must print both sides unless the customer specifically asked to print on one side only for a purpose to which we may not have control. This policy oblige individual to behave responsibly when printing. As a supervisor I can only report the incident based on which an employee can be given warning and force him to obey to protect and improve the environment.

Under this circumstances I must argue against that if individual not acting upon set rules and regulations, bringing an improvement on a already damaged environment is not possible. Therefore I disagree to the fullest extent. An organization can make policies and procedures on how to improve the environment however the action must be by an individuals in the organization.