Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been argued for quite a long time that the sports authorities should spend a large amount of money on the general public to motivate them to stay fit and healthy rather than spending the whole budget on a few selected players. I partially believe that the government should encourage people to participate in multiple sports, such as Hockey, Football and other outdoor activities. In this essay, I will provide relevant examples and reasons to support my opinion.

To begin with, government authorities should run some kind of campaigns to motivate people about different outdoor activities. Also, the sports authorities can create some mandatory laws, which force people to do some kind of physical workouts. Playing games could help people to stay fit and healthy. This could also help the vast majority of people rather than a few athletes who are going to take part in the Olympics. In many popular countries, for instance, citizens are required to do some kind of outdoor activities daily so that they can stay away from illness or any kind of diseases.

On the other hand, providing special training to national players is also important. Because they represent our nation globally, they need to be trained hard. Winning a medal in the Olympics has been a dream of every countryman, especially for the young generation. However, it also helps our country to gain some power internationally. It creates a great country's image all over the world. For example, the United States of America has been involved in all types of sports and always been on the top of the medal tally, because the US government invested a large amount of money on national players.

To sum up, governing bodies should encourage people to play major sports and push them to take part. Additionally, they should raise awareness among them could help stay fit and healthy. But, many big sports events like the Olympics should not be ignored completely and players should also be trained equally.