International air travel has been made easier compared to the past. Is it a positive or negative development?

In modern times, technological advancement in aviation has transformed international air travel by making it easier when compared to the past. While some people view this trend as a negative development, I believe that it is a positive development and I shall use this essay to justify my opinion.

To begin with, the recent convenience and ease of air travel has made airfares more affordable. For most of human history, people lived and died where they were born as anybody who wanted to travel across countries had to possess enormous wealth and power. Nowadays, people can save to travel because of how affordable the fares are. To illustrate, companies like Boeings now produce efficient planes, intensifying competition between airlines and increasing supply to a point that it exceeds demand for flights. This improved efficiency in the air travel sector consequently reduces cost of plane tickets and makes them more affordable.

Furthermore, the convenience of international air travel has boosted the tourism sector which generates a large percentage of a country’s revenue. Unlike in the past, people can now easily travel across countries to explore different cultures and broaden their horizons. To illustrate, tourism which is one of the largest contributors to UAE’s economic growth is facilitated by Emirates airline. This airline has several aircraft that travel to different countries bringing in thousands of tourists into UAE thereby giving rise to exponential growth of their economy. Also, I observed that most international visitors in my home country arrived with airplanes and my current visit to the international airport evidently shows a massive number of travellers travelling by air.

This further reflects the positive impact of International air travel on tourism and abroad visits.

To conclude, while international air travel is a byproduct of technological advancement and has clear environmental drawbacks, we cannot shy away from the positive contribution it has made to tourism or travel. Therefore, it is paramount that efforts must continually be made to develop international air travel.