International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Travel industry has experienced a major boom in the later part of the 20th century and has been a boon in disguise, which has helped some weaker nations to uplift their failing economies. While questions have been raised regarding the negative impacts that accompany the growth in the travel sector, these definitely do not outweigh the associated benefits.

The economic boost that accompanies a successful travel industry is quite well recognized and Thailand is the best example. The entire Thai economy revolves around tourism and the country had been able to uplift its socio-economic status through its flourishing hospitality sector. Egypt is another nation that is heavily dependent on its hospitality sector. The growth in the number of incoming tourists leads to innumerable prospects in terms of local entrepreneurship & employment generation. This is also associated with international investments and infrastructure development. The national authorities, in order to ensure the safety of the international visitors provide better law and order enforcement, improved transportation and healthcare facilities, which in turn benefit the local population.

On the other hand, the rising influx of holidaymakers is associated with increased incidences of crimes, prostitution and antisocial activities like drugs, human trafficking, and gambling, which affect the values of the indigenous society. The local population is also affected by the growth in property value indices. Environmentalists are also concerned regarding environmental remodeling, that is associated with increased tourist activities in natural reserves. In this context, it is worth mentioning that, by enforcing stern law and order and implementing strict legislation, governments can control most of these negative impacts of tourism.

Henceforth, it can be confidently conveyed that, even though the growth in the travel industry has accompanying negative social impacts, these do not outweigh the contributions made by this sector towards social development.