In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent decades, owning a gun has become a symbol of status. Nowadays, several people possess guns in many countries. Although, these guns can sometimes act as a safety tool, however, they are also misused a plethora of times. To my mind, the increase in crime rate is directly proportional to possessing a gun. This essay will point out some reasons followed by examples to prove them.

To begin with, there are various government laws which help people to easily own guns especially if they belong to an upper-class family. Because of these laws, people carry guns even to public places take for instance bars, supermarkets, restaurants etc. and therefore, to show their power and status they exhibit their guns to create a fearful atmosphere so that, others will do whatever they want and as being in rage and anger, knowingly or unknowingly finally they get involved in shooting someone. A recent study done by a private Security Provider company showed that almost 40% of shooting took place in public places and the main reason behind those shootings was heated conversation between people over some service to be provided. Hence, this proves that if the general public will not have access to guns, these types of incidents can be avoided.

Secondly, it is intuitively obvious that having a gun is harmful to those who possess as well for others. Although, some people make use of guns owned by them only for security purpose, nevertheless, it can lead to foster a violent behavior in teenagers. Also, there are many cases related to animal butchering, hunting for their skin, flesh, teeth, horns etc. Recent research by Forest Department of Bangalore proved that many deaths or hunting of animals were mainly done by people who possessed their own gun. Thus, this also shows many people misuse the guns owned by them.

To sum up, there are also some genuine cases where guns have saved many people when used for security purpose, however, there is ample evidence that owning a gun is harmful to the society and the inhabitants.