Internet has emerged as a new source of information and knowlrdge. This led many people to think that this new technology will ultimately replace book and printed words

How far do you agree with the statememt?

Internet has widely taken its place in terms of providing information and knowledge. Some people believe that due to all time high popularity, internet will definitely replace books and printed magazines, newspapers and journals. However, I denounce the above statement. This essay will discuss reasons for disagreement along with the supporting evidence before reaching to a conclusion.

First of all, before the advent of internet, it was still possible to gain profound knowledge and learn new things. As a matter of fact, in a century when internet was not developed, books were the main source in imparting knowledge and boost the mental growth of a person. For instance, nowadays older people who have successfully achieved their goals used to read books in their academic career when internet was not even available then. Also, the person who advented internet surely instilled knowledge through books in his own time. Therefore, it clearly validates my aforementioned reason and proves books cannot be obsolete because of valuable information they provide.

Moreover, books are considered to be crucial for those people who are technophobes. To simplify, many people are not habitual and skilled enough to use internet. Owing to lack of knowledge in operating internet and the traditional habit of reading books is the principle reason of not using web sources. To cite an example, a survey reported in The times demonstrated majority of people in some rural areas does not know even the word "internet". So how can they use it, instead they can study newspaper and books in their mother tongue and have enough general knowledge. Hence, it clearly states again why internet cannot replace printed books.

However, some believe that internet seems to dominate the entire world of ancient educational resources. To simplify, internet is a valuable source of providing information to people. With the availability of excessive reference materials, unlimited knowledge can be gained through these and due to its flexibility one can use it any time. Although, benefits of using internet cannot be overlooked, I nullify the above statement by saying that books are advantageous in providing reading skills and enhancing intellectual development.

To conclude, despite of being enormously beneficial in several aspects, internet cannot completely replace books because of their tendency to impart knowledge and people interested in reading them.