Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Subjects which are taught in schools and universities have their own importance. As per the stated notion, some people argue that history is considered to be an essential subject while others believe that science and technology should be emphasized more as a part of education.

To begin with, a few segments of society opine that history plays a crucial role in education system. To simplify, teaching history in schools imparts knowledge about ancient times. A student learns the aspect of history by learning the involvement of people in gaining freedom. For instance, history subject teaches the children how the freedom fighter fought and survive with the british rulers in the past. Moreover, they acquire the moral as well as ethical values of the past time. Also students imbibe the knowledge about culture and tradition followed by people living in the first century. Therefore, it clearly validates my point of view why history cannot be ignored as an important curriculum.

On the other hand, some tend to believe that science and technology should be considered to be a more prominent subject as compared to historical one. To illustrate science has proven to be beneficial in modern time. Firstly, science has made our life easier by introduction of technological devices and instruments. Thus, a student can learn to develop skills and technologies in future purposes. Secondly, science has contributed in economical development of the country. A prime example of this is India has greatest mindsets who became scientists resulting in contribution of economy of a country. Hence, it clearly validates aforementioned reason why science is essential.

To conclude, subjects such as science and history are considered to be equally important as a part of school curriculum. I accord with the statement history should be given equal importance because of the historical knowledge a child can instill in his mind and to preserve its aspects.