Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case?

As technology has advanced, and internet has continued to grow, social media has assumed a significant role in our daily lives. There are some who argue that it may have a positive impact on society, while others hold a contrary viewpoint. In this essay, I will discuss what I consider to be the benefits and some drawbacks of social media and provide my own opinion accordingly.

There are several key benefits stemming from social media. The main one is connectivity. People can now keep in touch with each other with a click on Facebook, Twitter or Tik Tok, whereas it used to take ages for them to get updated via letters or spend a fortune to make international calls. Additionally, social media provides a platform for businessmen to approach a broader range of customers in a way that traditional marketing campaign cannot always achieve. Take Tik Tok as an example, where sellers can livestream products and interact with customers in real-time. Conversely, customers can place an order while they are watching. This convenience benefits both sellers and customers.

However, there are some drawbacks associated with social media. It can be addictive, and lead to excessive use, which interferes with other aspects of life such as work, school, and relationships. In other words, people tend to have less physical contact or engage in fewer activities when they spend most of their time on social media. Besides, there is the issue of misinformation to consider. Social media can be a breeding ground for rumors, fake news, and conspiracy theories, all of which can spread quickly and have real-world consequences. For example, couple of month ago, there was a trend of drinking vinegar to stay fit, which became viral on social media that caused a lot of health problems.

In conclusion, it is ultimately undeniable that social media is an essential tool that humans need to be aware of its advantages and disadvantages. Regardless of its potential side effect, I firmly believe that it is a positive trend that promotes development and progress for the reasons mentioned above.