It is argued that mobile phones and other electronic devices have no place in the classroom. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Times are changing, and so do the education system. With the advent of technological advancements, teaching techniques are constantly upgrading, nonetheless, people are still divided on their perceptions of allowing mobile phones, laptops and other electronic gizmos in the classroom. I am in partial agreement with the statement, and this essay examines the facts more closely.

At the onset, marvels in science and technology coupled with internet made learning and development efficient and easy. E-learning, once considered as the novel idea, is nowadays gaining momentum; and smart phones, laptops could be beneficial to students for further understanding of the concepts. For instance, a short video depicting fusion of two atoms to form a molecule enables a science aspirant to perceive the process which is not visible through naked eyes; ergo, they avoid rote learning. Moreover, teachers can able to share e-notes and assignments through soft copies, avoiding paper consumption which is environment friendly.

On the other side, these gadgets have their downsides, too. First and foremost is the use of social media; teenagers surf social media applications incessantly and teachers could not have control on each individual’s activity in the classroom. Some children, these devices are only for playing games and the idea of knowledge gaining culminates to self defeat. Second demerit is students may try access to restricted sites, eventually deviating from the learning process. Unequivocally, we support sex education for youth’s holistic development, but not incest pornography.

Furthermore, if students are allowed with smart devices then peers will try to emulate them in the sake of parity which might result in financial burden on mediocre family to fulfill their children’s desire. What is more, these state-of-the-art gizmos are expensive, if made compulsory than education for children will be more expensive.

Hammering the final nail, I pen down by saying that smart phones and laptops are good if they are used for the intended purpose – education, otherwise, students could go astray if teachers are not vigilant enough to ensure its real use.