Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does this cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Large corporations have a marketing department that device strategies for the round-the-clock bombardment of advertisement through varied mediums, and tempts people to buy their products. This essay discusses a few demerits associated with this phenomenon and suggestions to boost buying from local businesses.

At the onset, bigshot companies have deep pockets to rope in local and international celebrities and athletes to endorse their products. People emulate their role models and purchase stuffs irrespective of the price. Consequently, in most cases, they end up having heavy debts that take years to recuperate. In the case of children, it becomes difficult for moderately earning parents to discipline and content their offspring. Secondly, it becomes hard for a small-scale business to run their enterprises due to increased buying from supermarkets. Sadly, it impacts the livelihood of local communities. What is more, international fast food chains promote food items full of carbohydrates, sugars, and preservatives. The increased number of obese folks in the society is a classic example of its adverse effects.

As for encouraging the buying of local products, the government should roll out a campaign for supporting domestic stuff. To quote an instance, the Indian government started a drive ‘Vocal for Local’ and there was a surprise rise in purchasing of indigenous products in almost all categories. The local municipal should give subsidiary for starting startups as well as should reduce rates of electricity and taxes for small bricks and mortar shops to boost their bottom lines. Furthermore, small shops should focus on service and quality to satisfy customers.

To conclude, in the world of business marketing and promotions play a key role, however, it depends on the person to have a sense of conscience about what, where, and how much to buy. At the same time, it is the onus of the government to encourage local products.