Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

From antiquity, Alma mater is playing significant role in holistic development of students; and for that purpose, some people prefer sending their children to boarding schools while others disagree the ideology. This essay examines the fact more closely and my point of opinion.

To embark with, the proponents of boarding schools think pupils are having boundless benefits when they study and live on-campus. Firstly, away from parental care and support, they perceive various management skills on their own to cope up various academic and co-curricular activities. This life skills includes but not limited to basic etiquettes, punctuality, time management and discipline. Secondly, they have healthy informal social interaction with seniors living on the same hostel premises, developing network which on later years guide them for selecting career path. Exchange of assignments and notes with peers could be easily possible resulting in healthy competition. Furthermore, there is no commuting exertion and hence educants could utilize this time in others worthy activities.

On the other side, there are some downsides with the life of boarding schools. First prominent one is life of students is without parenthood. Parents cannot be vigilant on their childrens’ activities after school hours and many moldable minds go astray as they lack conscience and make wrong friend. Moreover, they devoid social interaction with relatives; and are not able to attend family functions, feel alienate which eventually affects their education. Another reason is some parents are of the opinion that along with edification, these young children have to learn vivid hues of life; experience of which can be taken from running errands, paying utility bills and many more. Additionally, this type of schooling incurs profuse amount of money which disturbs budget of mediocre family.

In conclusion, I discord the mentality of sending students to boarding schools away from parents for primary and secondary education because its demerits outweighs the merits.