Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

There are some people who believe that studying at boarding schools is beneficial for young people, while others do not support this option. In my essay, I will consider some of the reasons for both views and propose a conclusion.

On the one hand, those who support the idea of studying at a boarding school cite the various benefits that this option could bring to a child. These range from deeper focus on the study itself, to the security reasons. For example, students of boarding schools could devote more time to academic study, as they don’t need to waste precious time on logistics. Another argument is a children’s security as they stay under schools’ control 24 hours a day and do not risk their lives on their way from school to home or after class time.

By contrast, opponents of this view point out that children could have deep emotional stress being detached from their families. This could consequently make a negative impact on their academic performance. Moreover, feeling depressed could deteriorate a child’s relationship with his or her classmates, causing even more isolation for the person. Another argument is an inability to hand over some family traditions to a child living separately and to forge strong family bonds. This could lead to communication problems within a family.

Overall, it seems advisable that the decision to attend a boarding school should be carefully pondered by a family, as it has serious drawbacks as well as advantages. It would appear that this could affect both an academic performance as well as emotional strand.