It is becoming increasingly expensive for museums to be open to the public. What would be the best solution to keep them open, in your opinion?

Although museums are the most significant way of preserving historical monuments and traditional values, however making them available for the general public has become difficult due to the soaring maintenance cost. In my opinion, charging a nominal fee to visitors and subsidy from the government are major steps that can not be taken in order to ensure the availability of these exhibitions.

Undoubtedly, the administration has numerous responsibilities, and they have to allocate public funds to the essential social causes such as education, health and infrastructure. However, the necessity of upholding these museums can not be overlooked because these showcases are the ideal way to preserve many historical monuments, traditional events and arts but also disseminate awareness amongst a current generation. Thus, lawmakers must finance these exhibits to overhaul and further enhancements. For instance, Delhi National Museum contains events from the human development history such as footprints of various dinosaurs, hence it is an attraction for the school going students.

Further, putting minimal charges for the visit from the general audience would have a great influence on the development of these buildings as the accumulated money can be used for sustaining and improvement of these exhibits. For instance, the Delhi Railway museum of India is quite beautifully maintained through the public fund, and also visitors are being charged considerably higher fees. Not to mention, the infrastructure of several old museums has been deteriorating as a result of public interactions. Further, if there will be cost involved in exploring these exhibitions, there would be limited hordes of people in these buildings hence less damage to the infrastructure.

To conclude, granting financial support from the government and incorporating minimal visiting fees technique would be an ideal approach to uphold museums.